Maria O'Rourke, PhD, RN, FAAN

San Francisco Bay Area

President & CEO at Maria W. O'Rourke & Associates, LLC

About Maria O’Rourke, PhD, RN, FAAN

Maria O’Rourke, PhD, RN, FAAN

The O’Rourke Institute for Advancement of Professional Practice (OIAPP ®) was established in 1995 with a small group of iconic thought leaders in nursing with Dr O’Rourke as the driving force. Through OIAPP ®, professional role clarity and support for a professional practice approach to care was propelled to counter the business- led introduction of a task-based practice model that undermined professional practice and the professional role of the RN. Dr O’Rourke isrenowned for her pioneering, seminal work on role clarity. Her work defining nursing as a professional practice discipline impacted the legislative arena where she was instrumental in rewriting the California Nursing Practice Act in 1974.

Dr. O’Rourke has published and presented extensively at regional and national venues. Over the past four decades, her body of work in the field has culminated in the creation of Role-Driven Practice™ (RDP), a theoretically grounded professional practice model. Implemented in hospitals nationwide, Role-Driven  Practice™ acts as a foundation for improving performance and practice outcomes, accelerating the development of professional role competence and accountability, ensuring interprofessional leadership, establishing role driven therapeutic and collegial communication patterns within the interdisciplinary healthcare team, and for ensuring appropriate role relationships among professional, technical and assistive roles.

Dr. O’Rourke has held many key leadership positions including Clinical Nurse Specialist, Director of Staff Development and Research, Chief Nurse Executive, CEO, Healthcare Consultant and Chief Strategy Officer. Throughout her career she has led numerous patient safety and quality care initiatives helping organizations connect professional role competence to error/risk reduction, patient safety, and improved outcomes. With roots in nursing, her work transcends the discipline and serves as a foundation for interprofessional leadership. Based on her commitment to role based professional practice and her extensive work in this field, she has garnered several honors and awards, including the most recent one in 2010, the Jane Norbeck Distinguished Alumni Award from the UCSF School of Nursing.

Dr O’Rourke is currently  a nurse scientist- nurse theorist  in the Office of Research, Patient Care Services (ORPCS)at Stanford Health Care

Upcoming Conferences

Nursing & Healthcare 2022
Nursing Leadership: Empower, Engage, Excel 2024
Theme: The Journey Into the Future of Nursing
Los Angeles, USA
April 22-23, 2024


Prof. Dr. Anouar Alami
Prof. Dr. Anouar Alami
Professor, Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah University, Moroco.
Prof. Dr. Leticia M. Estevinho
Prof. Dr. Leticia M. Estevinho
Braganca, Portugal
Professor, Dept. of Biology & Biotechnology, School of Agriculture of the Polytechnic Institute of Bragança (ESA-IPB), Portugal.
Nirbhay Kumar, Ph.D.
Nirbhay Kumar, Ph.D.
Washington DC, USA
Professor, Dept. of Global Health, The Milken Institute School of Public Health, USA.
Prof. Istvan Toth
Prof. Istvan Toth
Brisbane, Australia
Chair in Biological Chemistry & Professor of Pharmacy, The University of Queensland (UQ)
Robyn Nelson, PhD, MS, RN
Robyn Nelson, PhD, MS, RN
California, USA
Dean of Nursing, CNI College, USA
Dr. Oara Neumann
Dr. Oara Neumann
Texas, USA
Research Scientist at Rice University, Texas, USA
Dr. CecIle Jugroot
Dr. Cecile Malardier-Jugroot
Ontario, Canada
Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and VP Research, Royal Military College of Canada, Kingston, Ontario
Dr Clare Hoskins
Dr Clare Hoskins
United Kingdom
Reader at University of Strathclyde, UK
Samer Hussein, Ph.D.
Samer Hussein, Ph.D.
Québec, Canada
Professeur adjoint, Département de Biologie Moléculaire, Biochimie Médicale et Pathologie
Donald Davidoff
Dr. Donald Davidoff, Massachusetts, USA
Massachusetts, United States
Chief, Department of Neuropsychology at McLean Hospital, Assistant Professor Harvard Medical School
Dr. Jean-Yves Masson
Dr. Jean-Yves Masson
Quebec, Canada
Full Professor, Université Laval
Dr. Donna Hedges
Donna Hedges, PhD, MSN, MBA, CNE
Texas, USA
Assistant Dean, Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio, Texas
Adele Webb, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN
Executive Dean of Healthcare Initiatives at Capella University
Dr. Oliver J. Morgan, Professor Scranton, PA , Counseling & Human Services University of Scranton
Oliver J. Morgan, Ph.D., LMFT, MAC
Professor Scranton, PA , Counseling & Human Services University of Scranton
Dr. Hank Hill
Hank C. Hill, MD, Surgical Oncology
Florida, USA
Fellowship-Trained Surgical Oncologist Board Certified General Surgeon
Prof.Dr. Fusun Terzioglu (RN, Msc, PhD) Atilim University
Ankara Province, Turkey
Dean of Faculty of Health Science, Ankara, Turkey
Dr. Subbaya Subramanian
Dr. Subbaya Subramanian
St. Paul, USA
Professor, Department of Surgery University of Minnesota Medical School
Hilal Arnouk
Hilal Arnouk, MD, PhD
Chicago, USA
Associate Professor at the Department of Pathology at Midwestern University
Reezena H. Malaska
Dr. Reezena H. Malaska, DNP, MSN, RN, CCRN
Florida, USA
Critical Care Educator/Clinical Instructor/Professor
Dr. Myron Szewczuk
Myron R. Szewczuk, Ph.D.
Ontario, Canada
Professor of Immunology, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Submit Your Poster/E-Poster

CE Accreditation

This nursing continuing professional development activity is submitted to Montana Nurses Association, an accredited approver with distinction by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

Download Brochure

Submit Your Abstract